Word Doctor: Writing To Request Something

The WORD DOCTOR is IN!

Do you need to make a request of someone?  When you must make a written request of your boss, a creditor or someone who can open a door to something you need, you can’t be wordy.

Here are a few key things to remember when you are writing a request:

1. Know precisely what you are requesting–get it down to 2-3 words.

2. State your request in the first sentence.

3. Explain the reasons for your request in the middle of the letter or e-mail.

4. Restate your request at the end with appropriate gratefulness and closure.

EXAMPLE:

RE: Account # 1532432

Dear Bank Manager:

I am writing to request an extension on my loan in order to lower my monthly payment on my above referenced account.

I was recently laid off from my job, and though I am drawing unemployment benefits and will be able to continue making payments on my loan, I will not be able to meet all my monthly expenses unless I can lower my loan payment.

My current loan maturation date is March 31, 2011, however, I would like to extend it to March 31, 2015, so that my monthly payment can be reduced below $100.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss extending my loan. My contact information is listed below.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

____________________________________________

EXAMPLE:

Dear Admin Assistant,

I am writing to request your help in obtaining a reimbursement from your company on my credit card by April 30, 2010.

I wrote to your supervisor, Mr. Jones, on March 21, 2010, requesting this reimbursement on my account and received a reply from him acknowledging the reimbursement, however, I have yet to see it on my credit card statement. My situation is such that unless I receive reimbursement by April 30, 2010, I will incur late fees on my credit card.

Your assistance in rushing my request through prior to that date is appreciated. You may reach me on my cell phone 309-123-4567 at anytime if you need further information to make this happen on time.

Thank for your help.

Sincerely,

____________________________________________

Remember: state your request clearly and succinctly–focus on what you need your reader to do and don’t overwhelm them with your reasons!

Let me know if you need help, the WORD DOCTOR is IN!

CCS

Write your comments here

